Skip to main content
Close

Resource Centre

We invite you to come to the Patient & Family Resource Centre to read, browse our bookstore or search our catalogue of downloadable resources.
About

The Family Support and Resource Centre provides services and houses unique collections for the BC Children's Hospital. It is also the hub for the BC Children's bookstore and provides access across the province to specialized resources not found in other libraries.

The resource centre offers a wide variety of books, pamphlets, DVDs and other resources on children's health topics. 

You can also use the kiosks throughout the buildings to search for resources, and borrow the resources via our online library and catalogue. The resource will be packaged and shipped. A map of kiosk locations is available outside the Resource Centre.

Looking for our A to Z of health pamphlets? 

You'll find all our patient handouts on PHSA Libraries, our new online catalogue of resources and bookstore. 

Patient resources on health topics from the BC Children's Hospital Family Support & Resource Centre and the Sunny Hill Education Resource Centre are all now available in one place. 

Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre

The Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre is a provincial resource that works to link children, youth and their families with appropriate resources in all areas of mental health and addictions.


Sunny Hill Education Resource Centre

The Sunny Hill Education Resource Centre (SHERC) houses a unique collection of books, videos, journals, board games, curricula and various educational props and materials designed for children with disabilities. They also have very specific materials and props to accommodate a number of communication barriers and alternate leaning styles experienced by some individuals with disabilities.

 


Computer kiosks

We provide access to 24-hour computer kiosks, located throughout the campus. 

BC Children's hospital building

For inpatients

  • 2B Oncology 
  • PICU 1M4 & 1M7
  • NICU 1N28

For the public

  • 3R53 (next to elevators)

BC Women's hospital building 

For inpatients

  • Evergreen Lounge, 2P 

 For the public

  •  Front Lobby (east of entrance)
  • Waiting Room (west of entrance)

 

Provincial services

Here is a list of family support programs & services available around the province.

‎Aboriginal Child Care Society: www.acc-society.bc.ca
Aboriginal Guide to Services: www.gov.bc.ca/arr/services/guide.html
BC Aboriginal Network on Disability: www.bcands.bc.ca
First Nations Health Authority: www.fnha.ca
Non-Insured Health Benefits: www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fniah-spnia/nihb-ssna
Returning Home Project (Central & North Vancouver Island): www.viha.ca/children/returning_home

 

‎BC Laws: www.bclaws.ca
Dial-A-Law©: www.dialalaw.org
First Call: www.firstcallbc.org
Legal Service Society: www.lss.bc.ca
Representative for Children & Youth: www.rcybc.ca
Society for Children & Youth of BC: www.scyofbc.org

 

‎C Easter Seals Camps: www.eastersealscamps.ca
BC Lions Society Camps: www.lionsbc.ca
Camp Goodtimes: www.campgoodtimes.org
Camp Hornby (mid-Vancouver Island): www.camphornby.org
Elks Recreational Children’s Camp: www.bcelks.ca/bce-childrencamp.shtml
Eureka Outdoor Camp: www.eurekacamp.ca
Zajac Ranch for Children: www.zajacranch.com

 

‎Bayshore Home Health: www.bayshore.ca
Care – There for you: www.ca.care.com/special-needs-providers
Home and Community Care: www.health.gov.bc.ca/hcc
Lower Mainland Caregivers Support: www.caregivers.vch.ca
Support Worker Central: www.supportworkercentral.com

 

‎Child Care Resource & Referral: www.ccrr.bc.ca

 

‎Access Kamloops: www.accesskamloops.org
Association of Neighborhood Houses of BC: www.anhbc.org
Axis Family Resources: www.axis.bc.ca
BC Association for Child Development & Intervention: www.bcacdi.org
BC211 (was the Red Book): www.bc211.ca
Boys & Girls Club of South Coast BC: www.bgcbc.ca
Council for Families (BC): www.bccf.ca
Family Resource Programs (Canadian Association of) FRP: www.frp.ca
Family Services of Greater Vancouver: www.fsgv.ca
Family Support Institute: www.familysupportbc.com
In Your Grasp: www.inyourgrasp.bc.ca
Kelowna Community Resources: www.kelowna.cioc.ca
Kootenay Parenting Threads Network: www.parentingthreads.ca
Langley Community Services Society: www.lcss.ca
Options Community Services – Fraser Valley: www.scss.ca
Parent Support Services of BC: www.parentsupportbc.ca
Parents Matter: www.parentsmatter.ca
PREVNet - Promoting Relatioship & Eliminating Violence Society: www.prevnet.ca
Reach Child & Youth Development Society: www.reachdevelopment.org (Delta, Surrey, Langley)
Réso-Santé Colombie Britannique: www.resosante.ca
Sibling Support Groups: www.siblingsupportgroups.ca
SPARC BC: www.sparc.bc.ca
The Center for Child Development: www.centreforchilddevelopment.ca (Delta, White Rock, Surrey, Langley)
The Federation of Community Social Services of BC: www.fcssbc.ca
Victoria Community Options for Children and Families: www.communityoptions.bc.ca

 

‎Abilities Canada: www.abilities.ca
Ability Online - www.abilityonline.org
BC Center for Ability: www.centreforability.bc.ca
Centre for Specialized Learning: www.specializedlearningcentre.org
Community Living BC: www.communitylivingbc.ca
Developmental Disabilities Association of BC: www.develop.bc.ca
Inclusion BC: www.inclusionbc.org
Parking Permit Program for People with Disabilities – SPARC BC: www.sparc.bc.ca/parking-permit
Planned Lifetime Advocacy Network (PLAN): www.plan.ca
PosAbilities: www.posabilities.ca
Thompson Community Services: www.thompsoncommunityservices.com (Kamloops)
Vancouver Parent Transition Group: www.vptg.wordpress.com

 

‎BC Lions Society for Children with Disabilities: www.lionsbc.ca (various supports)
BC Rehab Foundation: www.bcrehab.com (medical equipment)
Chilliwack Children’s Foundation: www.chilliwackchildrensfoundation.ca (various supports, but location specific)
CKNW Orphan’s Fund: www.cknw.com (various supports)
David Foster Foundation: www.davidfosterfoundation.org (organ transplants)
Giving in Action Family Fund: www.givinginaction.ca
Gizeh Shriners: www.shriners.bc.ca (travel)
Help Fill a Dream Foundation (Vancouver Island) www.helpfilladream.com (various supports, life-threatening conditions)
Jennifer and Gregory Louie Foundation for Cerebral Palsy: www.jglfoundation.com
Kinsmen foundation of BC & Yukon www.kinsmenfoundationofbc.ca (various conditions)
Make a Wish Foundation Canada www.makeawish.ca (various supports, life-threatening conditions)
Military Police Fund for Blind Children: www.mpfbc.com
Neil Squire Society: www.neilsquire.ca (various disabilities)
Northern BC Friends of Children: www.friendsofchildren.ca (various supports, but location specific)
President’s Choice Children’s Charity: www.presidentschoice.ca/en_CA/community/pccc.html (various supports, but condition specific)
Red Cross Programs and Services in BC: www.redcross.ca/where-we-work/in-canada/british-columbia-and-yukon (medical equipment)
Rick Hansen Foundation: www.rickhansen.com (wheelchairs and other mobility equipment)
South Okanagan Children’s Charity: www.southokanaganchildrenscharity.com (various supports, but location specific)
Starlight Children’s Foundation of Canada www.starlightcanada.org (various conditions)
Variety – the Children’s Charity: www.variety.bc.ca (various supports)
War Amps: www.waramps.ca (prosthetic limbs and travel)
You Are Not Alone – Comox Valley: www.yanacomoxvalley.com (various supports, but location specific)

 

‎Aboriginal Infant Development Program: www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/spec_needs/aidp.htm
Aboriginal Supported Child Development: http://www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/spec_needs/ascd.htm
At Home Program: www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/at_home
Autism Spectrum Disorder: www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/autism
BC Ambulance Service: www.bcas.ca
BC Housing: www.bchousing.org
BC Mental Health & Substance Use Services: www.bcmhsus.ca
Check Your Head: www.mindcheck.ca
Child Care: www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/childcare
Children & Youth with Special Needs (CYSN): www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/spec_needs
Employment Insurance: www.servicecanada.gc.ca/eng/sc/ei
Health Link BC: www.healthlinkbc.ca
Healthy Families BC: www.healthyfamiliesbc.ca
Hearing & Vision Loss Services: www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/spec_needs/hearing_vision.htm
Helpline for Children: www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/getting_help/help.htm or call: 310-1234
Here to Help: www.heretohelp.bc.ca
Income Assistance: www.sdsi.gov.bc.ca/bcea.htm
Infant Development Program (IDP): www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/spec_needs/idp
Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre: www.keltymentalhealth.ca
Medical Services Plan (MSP) BC: www.health.gov.bc.ca/msp
Ministry of Children and Family Development (MCFD): www.gov.bc.ca/mcf
Ministry of Health: www.gov.bc.ca/health
Ministry of Social Development and Social Innovation: www.gov.bc.ca/sdsi
Patient Care Quality Review Board: www.patientcarequalityreviewboard.ca
Persons with Disabilities: www.sdsi.gov.bc.ca/pwd.htm
Pharmacare: www.health.gov.bc.ca/pharmacare
Service Canada: www.servicecanada.gc.ca
Supported Child Development: www.mcf.gov.bc.ca/spec_needs/scd.htm

 

‎BC Bereavement Helpline: www.bcbereavementhelpline.com
Canadian Virtual Hospice: www.virtualhospice.ca
Canuck Place Children’s Hospice: www.canuckplace.org
Compassionate Friends: www.tcfcanada.net
Lower Mainland Crossroads Hospice Society: www.crossroadshospice.bc.ca/support
Lower Mainland Grief Recovery Society: www.lmgr.ca
The Living through Loss Counselling Society of BC: www.ltlc.bc.ca

 

‎AboutKidsHealth: www.aboutkidshealth.ca

Brain/Neurological Conditions
ALS Society of BC: www.alsbc.ca
Asante Centre for FAS: www.asantecentre.org
Autism Community Training – ACT: www.actcommunity.net
Autism Society of BC: www.autismbc.ca
BC Brain Injury Association: www.bcbraininjuryassociation.com
BC Epilepsy Society: www.bcepilepsy.com
Canadian Epilepsy Alliance: www.epilepsymatters.com
Canucks Autism Network: www.canucksautism.ca
Children & Adults with Attention Deficit Disorders (CHADD): www.vcn.bc.ca/chaddvan
Epilepsy Canada: www.epilepsy.ca
Epilepsy Support Centre: www.epilepsysupport.ca
FAS/E Provincial Outreach Program: www.fasoutreach.ca
Friend to Friend Social Learning Society: www.friend2friendsociety.org
Learning Disabilities Association of BC: www.ldasvi.bc.ca
Tourette Syndrome Foundation of Canada: www.tourette.ca

Endrocrine
Bridges To The Future Program (Muscular Dystrophy): www.bridgestothefuture.ca
Cerebral Palsy Association of BC: www.bccerebralpalsy.com
Klinefelter Syndrome Information & Support: www.klinefeltersyndrome.org
Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada: www.mssociety.ca
XXY Talk International Support Forum: www.xxytalk.com

Eyes
Canadian Deaf Blind Association – BC Chapter: www.cdbabc.ca
Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB): www.cnib.ca

Hearing
BC Family Hearing Resource Society: www.bcfamilyhearing.com
Canadian Deaf Blind Association – BC Chapter: www.cdbabc.ca
Deaf Children’s Society: www.deafchildren.bc.ca
Family Network for Deaf Children: www.fndc.ca

Heart
Children's Heart Network: www.childrensheartnetwork.org

Genetics
Canadian Prader-Willi Syndrome Association: www.praderwilli.ca
Down Syndrome Research Foundation & Resource Centre: www.dsrf.org
Down Syndrome Society: www.lmdss.com

GI
Chrons and Colitis Foundation Canada: www.ccfc.ca
Canadian Celiac Association: www.celiac.ca

Immune Disorders
Positive Living BC: www.positivelivingbc.org

Kidney
Kidney Foundation: www.kidney.ca

Liver
Canadian Liver Foundation: www.liver.ca

Mental Health
Anxiety BC: www.anxietybc.com
BC Friends Parent Program: www.friendsparentprogram.com
BC Schizophrenia Society: www.bcss.org
Canadian Mental Health Association: www.cmha.ca
Check your head: www.checkyourhead.org
Counselling BC: www.counsellingbc.com
eMental Health: www.ementalhealth.ca
F.O.R.C.E. Society for Kids’ Mental Health: www.forcesociety.com
Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre: www.keltymentalhealth.ca
Mood disorder association of BC: www.mdabc.net
Mood Disorders Association of BC: www.mdabc.net
Pivot Point Family Growth Centre BC: www.pivotpoint.ca
Psychologist Association (BC): www.psychologists.bc.ca/content/find-help
Schizophrenia Society of Canada: www.schizophrenia.ca
Theravive: www.theravive.com

Muscles, Bones, Joints & Nerves
Muscular Dystrophy Canada: www.muscle.ca
Muscular Dystrophy: www.parentprojectmd.org
The Arthritis Society: www.arthritis.ca

Organ Transplant
BC Transplant: www.transplant.bc.ca
Canadian Transplant Association: www.organ-donation-works.org

Rare Diseases
Nation Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD): www.rarediseased.org
Rare Disease Foundation: www.rarediseasefoundation.org

Respiratory/Lungs
Asthma Society of Canada: www.asthma.ca
Canadian Lung Association: www.lung.ca
Cystic Fibrosis Canada: www.cysticfibrosis.ca

Spine Related
Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Association of BC: www.sbhabc.org
Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Association of Canada: www.sbhac.ca
Spinal Cord Injury BC: www.sci-bc.ca

 

‎AMSSA – Affiliation of Multicultural Societies and Services Agencies of BC: www.amssa.org
Citizenship & Immigration Canada: www.cic.gc.ca/english
Global Multicultural Community Services Society: www.globalsociety.ca
Immigrant Services Society: www.issbc.org
Mosaic BC: www.mosaicbc.com
Pacific Immigrant Resource Society: www.pirs.bc.ca
Progressive Intercultural Community Services: www.pics.bc.ca
SUCCESS: www.success.bc.ca
Umbrella Multicultural Health Co-op: www.umbrellacoop.ca/about
Welcome BC: www.welcomebc.ca/Live

 

‎AMSSA – Affiliation of Multicultural Societies and Services Agencies of BC: www.amssa.org
Citizenship & Immigration Canada: www.cic.gc.ca/english
Global Multicultural Community Services Society: www.globalsociety.ca
Immigrant Services Society: www.issbc.org
Mosaic BC: www.mosaicbc.com
Pacific Immigrant Resource Society: www.pirs.bc.ca
Progressive Intercultural Community Services: www.pics.bc.ca
SUCCESS: www.success.bc.ca
Umbrella Multicultural Health Co-op: www.umbrellacoop.ca/about
Welcome BC: www.welcomebc.ca/Live

 

‎BC Therapeutic Riding Association: www.vcn.bc.ca/bctra
BC Blind Sports and Recreation: www.bcblindsports.bc.ca
BC Deaf Sports Federation: www.bcdeafsports.bc.ca
BC Mobility Opportunities Society: www.bcmos.org
BC Special Olympics: www.specialolympics.bc.ca
BC Wheelchair Basketball Society: www.bcwbs.ca
BC Wheelchair Sports: www.bcwheelchairsports.com
Canadian Amputee Hockey Committee: www.canadianamputeehockey.ca
Canadian Amputee Sports Association: www.canadianamputeesports.ca
Canadian CP Sports Association: www.ccpsa.ca
Canadian Deaf Hockey: www.cdihf.deafhockey.com
Canadian Deaf Sports Association: www.assc-cdsa.com
Canadian Paralympic Committee: www.paralympic.ca
Canadian Special Olympics: www.specialolympics.ca
Canadian Therapeutic Riding Association: www.cantra.ca
Canadian Tire Jumpstart: www.jumpstart.canadiantire.ca
Canadian Wheelchair Basketball Association: www.wheelchairbasketball.ca
Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association: www.cwsa.ca
Canchild Participation Hub: www.participation-environment.canchild.ca
Disabled Sailing Association of BC: www.reachdisability.org/dsa
Disabled Skiers Association of BC: www.disabledskiingbc.com
Kidsport BC: www.kidsportcanada.ca
Power To Be Adaptive Recreation Program: www.powertobe.ca
Sportability BC: www.sportabilitybc.ca
Theater Terrific Society: www.allianceforarts.com
Vancouver Adapted Music Society (VAMS): www.reachdisability.org

 

‎Children's Medical Equipment Loan Service (CMERLS): www.redcross.ca/where-we-work/in-canada/british-columbia/bc-specific-programs/children-s-medical-equipment-recycling-and-loan-service
Health Equipment Loan Program – Red Cross: www.redcross.ca/where-we-work/in-canada/british-columbia-and-yukon
Lower Mainland Lancaster Medical Supplies: www.lancastermed.com
Lower Mainland MacDonald Pharmacy and Medical Supplies – Home Health Care: www.macdonaldshhc.com/HHC
Lower Mainland Regency Medical Supplies: www.regencymed.com
Lower Mainland SelfCare Home Health Products: www.selfcarehome.com
Shoppers Drug Mart Home Health Care: www.shoppersdrugmart.ca/english/home_health_care
Special Education Technology of BC (SET BC): www.setbc.org
WeeTravel: www.weetravel.ca

 

 

Tab Heading
SOURCE: Resource Centre ( )
Page printed: . Unofficial document if printed. Please refer to SOURCE for latest information.

Copyright © BC Children's Hospital. All Rights Reserved.

    Copyright © 2016 Provincial Health Services Authority.